Reflection on sovereign hill

Wow. Sovereign hill was possibly the best camp I’ve been on so far, it was very realistic compared to say the 1850’s. It was very very enjoyable and every one had a good time including me.

I think that some of the positive attributes I used were curiosity because in the school program I was very curious to learn how the people in the 1800’s lived back then. I also think I used imagination during the time we were there because in bed I would always try to dream about how hard it would’ve been back then and I couldn’t really imagine how bad it would’ve been. One of the times I used curiosity was when we visited the shops and I tried quite hard to understand how hard it would’ve been without power and clean water and how hard I would’ve been to function a shop and it was very hard to take it all in which is why I think I used curiosity.

And a way I used imagination was think about how they lived back then and to think about how amazing it would’ve been to find gold and sell it and then become rich.

One of my favourite parts out of the many was when we visited the M.A.D.E. Museum some of the reasons for this is because of how much there was in there, for example one of the biggest gold nuggets was sitting in a glass container there and it weighed 70 kilograms! I also really enjoyed seeing the eureka flag, it was not in one piece though it was quite torn and that proved that it had been through a lot which was the most fascinating part about it. My favourite part overall was AURA. At the start we got to watch a short film about how the earth was created in 3D glasses!!! Then we got into these spaceship looking trucks and when we arrived at our next destination we then watched a film about the gold fields the whole thing lasted about 2 hours and it was very entertaining. I also really enjoyed the school program because it was really fun and enjoyable to dress how they dressed and play the games they played and learn how hard it was for them to live, I really enjoyed learning about the goldfields and how amazing it was to find gold back then and it still is! I remember that we visited this one guy and he melted gold poured it into a shape and 30 seconds later it was already solid at 900 degrees! 

Honestly I overall think sovereign hill is amazing and I don’t know how it can be improved I loved it so much and I also really enjoyed how realistic the school program was, I really recommend sovereign hill because not only can you get gold but you can also find out how it really was back then.

(There is a picture at the top of the eureka flag)

3 thoughts on “Reflection on sovereign hill


  1. Hey Max!
    Your post was really detailed and I’m amazed by the amount of PLAs you used. I loved sovereign hill as well. My favourite bit was the raspberry drops.
    Nik


  2. Hey Max
    Your post had a lot of information about sovereign hill i really liked you post and how you added a lot of writing and My favourite part was the raspberry drops

    What did you like about sovereign hill
    -Ronith


  3. Hey Max I see you were curious too. I was thinking how they made all the buildings and how they remembered all the tiniest details and stuff. What part did you enjoy the most on camp?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *